top of page

Making Biodegradable planters from toilet rolls…

I have been saving up the cardboard centres of the toilet rolls and kitchen paper in my house for a good few months now so that I can begin planting this year’s vegetable seeds.

The cardboard rolls make great plant pots for seedlings as they are the perfect size to start things off. Another great advantage is that cardboard being biodegradable means that you can plant the whole thing on when the time comes, either into a bigger pot or straight into the ground, the roots remain intact and free from damage and the cardboard rots into the ground! Perfect.

This is my first year using this type of pot and I have to say I have already found this whole process a lot simpler. Although I have had toilet rolls hanging around for months I am favouring this option more than the plant pot washing up at the start of the season to get rid of all the dirt, crispy bugs and cobwebs that have no doubt accumulated in the shed over winter!

There is something incredibly satisfying about growing your own vegetables. I am lucky to have grown up with home grown vegetables, herbs and fruit for my whole life, so I have certainly developed my love for getting my hands dirty and gardening since childhood.

Making these planters is simple; you will need only the cardboard rolls and some scissors. I made 4 cuts and folded the bottom down as you would to close a cardboard box so it overlaps. I have read articles that suggest you don’t even need to fold the bottoms in; you could just stand them in a container and fill as long as you don’t intend to move them around alot they shouldn’t spill out. I have used the plastic tubs mushrooms come in at the supermarket as a container for my plants, and they fit perfectly on the windowsill.

This year I have planted tomatoes, courgettes, French beans and spinach. Keep an eye on my blog as I keep you updated with the growing progress of the plants and other similar projects coming up.

Jess x

bottom of page